Be healthy. Be independent.
At home and in your community.
Volunteer & Careers
Volunteer Opportunities
More Info

Quick Contact Info

670 Albert Street
Ottawa, Ontario   K1R 6L2

Get Directions
T(613) 688-1768
F(613) 230-2095

Office Hours

Mon. to Fri.
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Weekends & Holidays
Closed

Home Volunteer & Careers> Volunteer Services

Volunteer Services

The following is a list of the OCSC's 12 Core Volunteer Services that are often in requested by seniors, adults with disabilities and are provided by an agency near you.
Agency Ambassadors

The Agency Ambassador plays a vital role in promoting the agency. At community events, they will share consistent verbal and written information that will increase people’s awareness on programs, services, and the need for volunteers. They will often assist with setting up and tearing down of the display, keep a record of any inquiries that need to be brought to the attention of the Coordinator of Volunteers and the agency.

Adult Day Program / Alzheimer Day Program Assistant

Volunteers will provide assistance, companionship and encouragement to adults in a group setting who are participants in either the Adult Day Program and or the Alzheimer Day Program. Both of these day programs include planned social, recreational and physical activities, as well as meals and companionship.

Board of Directors

Members of the Board of Directors are primarily responsible for providing strategic leadership by setting direction, making policy and strategic decisions. They also oversee and monitor organizational performance, anticipate, mitigate and manage risks of the organization, ensuring prudent and proper management of the organization’s resources and overall accountability.

Communication Volunteers

Volunteers will provide support by responding to inquiries coming in through social media. Components of this position will include making event brochures, writing articles for local papers and assistance with a monthly newsletter. Volunteers should have excellent writing and grammar skills and knowledge of computer programs involving print media. Ability to self-edit is essential; this position does not require the volunteer to be on site but does require the volunteer to have access to email.

Fundraising Assistant

Fundraising Assistant will provide support related to fund development activities.Under the leadership of the Fundraising Committee, the volunteer’s tasks will vary depending on the event itself. Some of the tasks may require some evening or weekend commitments.

Multi-lingual Volunteers

With 4.5% of the population of Ottawa who do not speak either English or French, volunteers are needed to translate information either verbally or in writing, depending on the need.Translation may be related to agency information such as services and programs, up-coming events and social activities.

Meal Delivery Volunteers

Volunteer drivers, using their own vehicle, deliver hot meals between 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday, leaving from various kitchens throughout the city. Meals are delivered in Driver/Server teams. We can match you up with a volunteer server or you can recruit your own partner to deliver with you.

Office Assistant Volunteer

The Office Assistant may provide support at the reception desk, answer the telephone, input data information and help with mail outs, just to name a few. Training will include becoming familiar with basic information related to the agency’s programs and services, social event and activities.

Social / Health Activities Assistant

Volunteers may assist in the planning and promotion of program events, such as researching ideas for activities and outings, preparing marketing material and client mail outs. Other duties may include registration and follow-up with clients. Volunteer will assist with clients during event by interacting and ensuring all needs are met. Interested applicants should have great communication and interpersonal skills, be comfortable working with seniors and adults with physical disabilities, have a positive personality, patience and great energy.

Support Services

Provide regular companionship and social interaction to seniors and adults with disabilities who still live at home. Some of the programs under this service includes but not limited to telephone assurance, friendly visitors, palliative care, and seniors helping seniors. Commitment typically 1 or 2 hours a week, schedule to be determined between client and volunteer.

Tax Clinic Volunteer


Volunteer Drivers

Drivers are needed to provide transportation services to medical appointments, on grocery bus and various social activities and programs. Drivers are eligible for a per-kilometre reimbursement.Volunteer must provide proof of $2 million liability insurance and a current Driver’s Abstract. Due to the nature of the task involved, volunteers may need to provide emotional support. Level of commitment is different from one agency to another typically once a week, for two or three hours as required.

Find Services Near You

Enter your postal code to find an agency near you.

Be Healthy. Be Independent.
At Home and In Your Community.

Just imagine being able to stay in the comfort of your own home and community, where precious memories are longstanding. Member agencies of the OCSC are able to make this a reality, thanks to the generous support of the provincial and municipal governments as well as other funders such as the United Way Ottawa.

Read More

Soyez en santé. Soyez indépendant.
À la maison et dans votre communauté.
Bénévolat et carrières
Opportunités pour les bénévoles
Information additionnelle

Pour nous rejoindre

670 rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)   K1R 6L2

Pour obtenir les directions
T(613) 688-1768
F(613) 230-2095

Les heures d'ouverture

lundi à vendredi
8h30 à 16h00
Fin de semaines et les jours fériés
Fermé

Accueil Bénévolat et carrières> Services de bénévolat

Services de bénévolat

Voici  les 10 services  de bénévoles de base de la CSSCO, services qui sont souvent en demande par les aînés, les adultes ayant une incapacité physique et ainsi qu’une agence près de vous.


1. Ambassadeurs d’agence 

Les ambassadeurs d’agence jouent un rôle essentiel dans la promotion de l'agence. Lors d'événements communautaires, ils partageront de l'information cohérente verbale et écrite qui permettra d'accroître la sensibilisation des gens sur les programmes, les services et le besoin de bénévoles. Ils vont souvent aider à la mise en place et au démontage de l'écran, tenir un registre de toutes les demandes de renseignements qui doivent être portées à l'attention de la coordonnatrice des bénévoles et l'agence.

2. Assistant pour Programme de jour pour adulte / Programme de jour pour les personnes atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer 

Les bénévoles fourniront une assistance d'accompagnement et d'encouragement pour adultes qui participent soit dans le programme de jour pour adulte et ou le programme de jour pour les personnes atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer. Ces deux programmes de jour comprennent des activités sociales, récréatives et physiques, ainsi que des repas et de la compagnie.

3. Conseil d’administration 

Les membres du conseil d'administration sont principalement responsables de fournir un leadership stratégique en établissant une orientation, l'élaboration des politiques et des décisions stratégiques. Ils supervisent et surveillent également la performance organisationnelle, anticipent, atténuent et gèrent les risques de l'organisation, la gestion prudente et adéquate des ressources de l'organisation et une responsabilité globale.

4. Bénévoles pour communication 

Les bénévoles apporteront leur soutien en répondant aux demandes de renseignements qui entrent par les médias sociaux. Les composants de ce poste incluront faire des brochures d'événements, la rédaction d'articles pour les papiers locaux et de l'assistance avec la composition d’une lettre d'information mensuelle. Les bénévoles doivent avoir une excellente capacité de rédaction, de grammaire et de connaissance des programmes informatiques impliquant des médias imprimé. Une habileté d'autoédition est essentielle.  Cette position ne nécessite pas que le bénévole soit sur place, mais doit avoir accès au courrier électronique.

5. Adjoint de collecte de fonds 

L’adjoint de collecte de fonds apportera un soutien lié à des activités de collecte de fonds. Sous la direction du comité de collecte de fonds, les tâches du bénévoles vont varier en fonction de l'événement même. Certaines de ces tâches peuvent exiger des engagements durant le soir ou le week-end.

6. Les bénévoles multilingues 

Avec plus de 4,5% de la population d'Ottawa qui ne parlent pas l’anglais ou le français, les bénévoles sont en demandent pour traduire les informations oralement ou par écrit, selon les besoins. La traduction peut être liée à l'information de l'agence telle que les services et les programmes, les événements et les activités sociales.

7. Assistance au bureau 

L’assistance au bureau peut fournir du soutien à la réception, répondre au téléphone, l’entrée de données d’informations et aider avec des envois postaux, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns. La formation comprendra à se familiariser avec les informations de base relatives aux programmes, aux services, aux activités sociales et de l'agence.

8. Assistant des activités sociales et de santé 

Les bénévoles aideront à la planification et à la promotion des activités du programme, telles que faire de la recherche d'idées pour des activités et sorties, préparation du matériel de marketing et l’envoi de correspondance aux clients. D'autres tâches peuvent inclurent l'enregistrement et faire un suivi auprès des clients. Les bénévoles aideront les clients pendant l'événement même, en interagissant et en s'assurant que tous leurs besoins sont satisfaits. Les candidats intéressés doivent avoir une bonne communication et relations interpersonnelles, doivent être à l'aise avec les aînés et les adultes ayant une incapacité physique, avoir une personnalité positive, de la patience et beaucoup énergie.

9. Services de soutien 

Le bénévole doit offrir une compagnie régulière et de l'interaction sociale aux aînés et des adultes ayant une incapacité physique qui demeurent toujours à la maison. Certains des programmes offerts dans ce cadre de service peuvent inclure mais n’est pas limité à téléassistance, les visites amicales, des soins palliatifs, et le programme ‘les aînés aidant les aînés’.  Le bénévole doit généralement s’engagé pour 1 ou 2 heures par semaine, horaire à être déterminer entre le client et le bénévole.

10. Conducteurs bénévoles 

Des conducteurs bénévoles sont en demande afin de fournir des services de transport pour rendez-vous médicaux, le bus pour l'épicerie, des diverses activités et programmes sociaux. Ces conducteurs sont admissibles à un remboursement par kilomètre. Il doit faire preuve d’être en possession d’une assurance véhiculaire de 2 millions $ et une copie du dossier de conduite satisfaisant.  En raison de la nature de la tâche à accomplir, les bénévoles auront parfois besoin d’offrir un soutien émotionnel. Le niveau d'engagement est différent d'une agence à l'autre mais typiquement une fois par semaine, pendant deux ou trois heures, dépendant de la demande.

SCRIPT:

Trouvez les services

Veuillez entrer votre code postal afin de trouver les agences et services près de vous.

Soyez en santé. Soyez indépendant.
À la maison et dans votre communauté.

Imaginez être capable de demeurer dans le confort de votre propre maison et votre communauté, où vos précieux souvenirs sont de longue date. Les organismes membres de la CSSCO sont capables de faire de cela une réalité, grâce à l'appui généreux des gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux ainsi que d'autres bailleurs de fonds comme Centraide Ottawa. Grâce à un réseau d'agences et de partenaires communautaires, votre santé et votre indépendance sont prioritaires.

Pour savoir en plus